Father and founder of FAMIGO, Alexander Feldberger described his journey from full-time employee to self-employed entrepreneur.

FAMIGO is a digital resource for cities and communities to present their family-friendly businesses, events and opportunities in a centralized, easy to use platform. As a partner of the cities and municipalities, FAMIGO creates the digital framework where cities and municipalities can provide relevant information for residents with children, families new to the area, or families on holiday – all age-adjusted and appropriate. (http://famigo.info/)

A family-owned startup for families by families

“My employment adviser asked me if I was drunk,” says Alexander Feldberger. He had just informed the officer that he would not be taking the well-paid position in the tourism industry. Instead, he wanted to found a startup and sign up for the Black Forest Accelerator, whose deadlines he had already missed.

Trading security for freedom and innovation
“While working on the accelerator application, I became more and more certain, that if I was accepted to the accelerator, I would decline the job offer.” He was accepted and his idea approved.
His idea now bears the name FAMIGO and is an impressive endeavour. Initially, it consisted of a B2C portal with user generated content, which centered around everything pertinent to families. “In the first workshop of the accelerator we discussed the difficulties of digitization for communities”, says Feldberger. He knew that for his idea to work, he had to get the cities and communities on board because they were the critical link to the families he wanted to reach.

A business idea developed from his own experience
FAMIGO intends to publicize event locations for local communities, not just playgrounds or sports clubs, but also toddler groups, baby yoga, kindergartens or elementary school. Feldberger developed the idea while on parental leave for the birth of his second child. “That’s when I realized how important these topics are.”
Through his work in the tourism industry, he knew what families looked for in the vicinity of their vacation homes. Now he also got to know the locals. “80 percent of all families with children go for a walk,” he states as an example, “but there is no directory for beautiful walks with children of different ages.”

Three different target groups – but always families
FAMIGO has three target groups. First, the families who live in the community and are confronted with the issues of daily life. The second target group is families new to the community that need information on what the community has to offer. Last but not least, are the families who are on vacation or in transit and want to be informed quickly and reliably.

FAMIGO does not provide the information itself, but only provides the platform in the form of a website that displays user-tailored content. Feldberger emphasizes that they are not building an app per se but the website and its content are smartphone-friendly and accessible on any device via a dynamic web application. “Nowadays, users want everything at the tip of their fingers,” he says “our goal is to provide a central, accessible platform that is readily available and meets the users’ needs.”

A solution for the communities by the communities
The cooperation of the cities and communities is vital in order to get comprehensive information. The city of Offenburg has published playground locations online, but Feldberger argues that alone is insufficient. “As a visitor, I have no way of knowing whether they are suitable for my three-year-old, whether there is shade available, etc. etc.” This is where the families and communities come in. A call for cooperation by the mayor for user-generated content could be the key to success, and Feldberger is certain this will work. “We have seen that a request by a mayor can increase participation rates up to 50 percent” he says.
Feldberger has three pilot cities: Gengenbach, Offenburg and Willstätt. As a city with a large tourism component, Gengenbach is the pilot city for vacationing families. Offenburg, as a growing community, is committed to new citizens and is the ideal pilot city for relocating families. Finally, with the support of its mayor Marco Steffens (also Feldberger’s mentor), Willstätt is testing FAMIGO for the locals. In the future, Feldberger plans to expand FAMIGO to the entire Ortenau region, the Black Forest, Baden-Württemberg and eventually Germany-wide.

Fast-tracked through the accelerator
“The people in the communities we talk to have a wealth of information and new ideas,” says Feldberger. But the network of the accelerator program, as well as the exchange with the other participants, is indispensable. “It creates a group dynamic that is mutually beneficial for all” he says and adds, “without the accelerator program, I would never have come as far as fast as I have.” Thanks to the program and the WRO network, the mayors of Willstätt, Offenburg and Gengenbach (stakeholders in StartUp.Connect) are very supportive of the FAMIGO platform as a family-friendly tool. For Feldberger, this network has been a wonderful door opener.
The next steps for Feldberger and FAMIGO are clear. “We have the commitment for another funding program,” he says “we need a standard solution that works for all communities because it is uneconomical to create a new platform on a case-by-case basis.” With the cooperation of the pilot cities, a successful prototype will soon be refined. He is hopeful for one or another investor.

No regrets and more papa-time
Feldberger has never regretted walking away from corporate Germany, away from a nine-to-five job and secure income. “Of course, I also work a lot on my startup, but now I can partition my time,” he says. “If I work in the evening, I don’t take papa-time away from my children.” Thereby, he works on the FAMIGO platform at night and uses it with his kids in the afternoon.

“Without the Black Forest Accelerator, I would never have gotten as far as fast. The network we have here is enormously helpful. “

Papa und Gründer Alexander Feldberger nahm uns mit auf seinem Weg vom festen Arbeitsverhältnis in die Selbständigkeit.
Alex ist Gründer von famigo, eine digitale Lösung, wie Städte und Gemeinden ihre Familienangebote und -infos auf dem Silbertablett präsentieren können. Als Partner der Städte und Gemeinden erstellt FAMIGO den digitalen Rahmen, um Einwohner mit Kindern, Neubürger oder Familien im Urlaub zielgerichtet mit den Informationen zu versorgen, die sie brauchen – abgestimmt auf das Alter der Kinder. (http://famigo.info/)

Ein Familien-Startup für Familien mit Inhalten von Familien

“Mein Berater vom Arbeitsamt hat mich gefragt, ob ich betrunken bin”, sagt Alexander Feldberger. Er hatte dem Beamten gerade erklärt, dass er nicht eine hochdotierte Position in der Tourismusbranche antreten würde. Stattdessen wollte er ein Startup gründen und sich für den Black Forest Accelerator anmelden, dessen Fristen er eigentlich schon verpasst hatte.

Sicherheit gegen Freiheit und Innovationskraft getauscht

“Während ich die Bewerbungsunterlagen für den Accelerator bearbeitet habe, hat sich die Idee immer weiter geschärft”, sagt er. “Ich dachte mir: Wenn ich hier genommen werde, lasse ich den Job sausen.” Und er wurde genommen, seine Idee für gut befunden.

Die Idee trägt inzwischen den Namen FAMIGO und ist von beeindruckender Logik. Am Anfang stand ein B2C-Portal mit User Generated Content, der sich um alle Fragen von Familien drehte. “Bereits im ersten Workshop des Accelerators haben wir über den Pain der Digitalisierung für die Kommunen gesprochen”, sagt Feldberger, dem dabei ein Licht aufging: Die Städte und Gemeinden mussten mit ins Boot, denn niemand ist näher an den Familien dran.

Eine Geschäftsidee aus der eigenen Erfahrung entwickelt

FAMIGO will die Standortfaktoren für die Kommunen digitalisieren. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Freizeit-Komponente wie Spielplätze oder Sportklubs, sondern auch um Krabbelgruppen, Baby-Yoga, den Kindergarten oder die Grundschule. Die Idee entwickelte Feldberger, als er selbst nach der Geburt seines zweiten Kindes in der Elternzeit war. “Da habe ich gemerkt, wie wichtig diese Themen sind.”

Bereits während seiner Arbeit im Tourismus kannte er die Fragen von Familien, die sich um das Urlaubsdomizil drehten. Nun lernte er auch die der Einheimischen kennen. “80 Prozent aller Familien mit Kindern gehen spazieren. Es gehört dazu”, sagt er. “Aber ein Portal für schöne Spaziergänge mit Kindern verschiedener Altersgruppen gibt es nicht.”

 

Drei verschiedene Zielgruppen – aber immer Familien

Und so hat FAMIGO drei verschiedene Zielgruppen. Das sind zum einen natürlich die Familien, die in der Stadt oder Gemeinde leben und mit den Fragen des täglichen Lebens konfrontiert sind. Die zweite Zielgruppe sind Familien, die neu in der Stadt oder Gemeinde sind und alle Informationen für die Versorgung ihrer Kinder benötigen. Und die dritte Zielgruppe sind Familien, die im Urlaub oder auf der Durchreise sind und schnell und gezielt informiert werden möchten.

Die Informationen stellt FAMIGO dabei nicht selbst zur Verfügung, sondern bietet nur den Rahmen in Form einer Dynamic Web Application, also einer Website, die auf den Nutzer zugeschnittene Inhalte anzeigt. Feldberger wird nicht müde zu betonen, dass sie keine App bauen, wie sie für jede Lebenslage auf dem Smartphone zur Verfügung steht. Trotzdem sollen die Informationen auf das Smartphone kommen. “Heutzutage sind die Nutzer es gewohnt, dass alles zu ihnen kommt”, sagt er. “Unser Zielbild ist, dass wir die Informationen einsammeln und sie den Bedürfnissen des Users gemäß zur Verfügung stellen.”

Eine Lösung für die Gemeinden mit den Gemeinden

Um an die Informationen zu kommen, ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Städten und Gemeinden wichtig. Als Beispiel führt Feldberger die Offenburger Spielplätze an, die von der Stadt geolokalisiert wurden. “Allerdings weiß ich als Besucher nicht, ob sie sich für mein dreijähriges Kind eignen, ob ein Schattenplatz da ist oder ähnliches”, sagt er. Diesen Teil würden die Familien und Kommunen übernehmen. Ein Aufruf des Bürgermeisters zur Mitarbeit seit der Türöffner für User Generated Content. Feldberger zweifelt nicht daran, dass das klappt. “Wir haben gesehen, dass der Aufruf durch einen Bürgermeister zu Beteiligungsraten von 50 Prozent führen kann”, sagt er.

In seinen Pilotstädten wäre er schon mit einer geringeren Beteiligung zufrieden. Drei Städte konnte er für sich gewinnen. Während in Gengenbach die Tourismus-Komponente getestet wird, hat sich Offenburg den Neubürgern verschrieben. Und Willstätt mit seinem Mentor und dortigen Bürgermeister Marco Steffens testet FAMIGO für die Einheimischen. In den nächsten Schritten möchte Feldberger FAMIGO auf die Ortenau, den Schwarzwald, Baden-Württemberg und dann irgendwann Deutschland ausweiten.

Durch das Accelerator-Programm auf der Überholspur

“Die Mitarbeiter in den Kommunen, mit denen wir uns unterhalten, sind eine wundervolle Fundgrube für neue Ideen”, sagt Feldberger. Aber auch das Netzwerk des Accelerator-Programms ist von großem Nutzen, wie auch der Austausch mit den anderen Teilnehmern. “Es ist eine Gruppendynamik entstanden, man hilft sich gegenseitig”, sagt er und ergänzt: “Ohne das Accelerator-Programm wäre ich nie so schnell so weit gekommen, wie das inzwischen der Fall ist.” Von Willstätt, Offenburg und Gengenbach erhält FAMIGO bereits jetzt sehr viel Unterstützung durch die Bürgermeister. Hier kommt das Netzwerk der WRO wieder stark zum Einsatz. Die Bürgermeister sind Gesellschafter und somit am Erfolg von StartUp.Connect interessiert. Für Feldberger ist das Netzwerk ein wunderbarer Türöffner.

Die nächsten Schritte sind für Feldberger und FAMIGO klar. “Wir haben bereits die Zusage für ein weiteres Förderprogramm”, sagt er. In diesem Jahr werde das junge Unternehmen seine Hausaufgaben machen. “Wir brauchen eine Standardlösung, denn wenn wir an jedem Fall einzeln arbeiten müssten, würde es unrentabel.” So soll die Zusammenarbeit mit den Pilotstädten die Erfolge in Form der Prototypen abwerfen. Außerdem hofft er auf den einen oder anderen Investor.

Kein Bedauern und mehr Papa-Zeit

Feldberger bereut zu keiner Sekunde den Schritt weg aus Corporate Germany, weg von 9-to-5-Job und dem sicheren Einkommen. “Natürlich arbeite ich auch viel an meinem Startup, aber ich kann mir die Zeit einteilen”, sagt er. “Wenn ich abends arbeite, nehme ich meinen Kindern keine Papa-Zeit weg.” So kann er am Nachmittag selbst Nutzer seines Angebotes werden, während er abends dann daran arbeitet, aus Deutschland FAMIGO-Land zu machen.

„Ohne das Accelerator-Programm wäre ich nie so schnell so weit gekommen, wie das inzwischen der Fall ist. Das Netzwerk, das uns hier zur Verfügung steht, ist enorm hilfreich.“